Day 1: We’re not in Kansas Anymore

I completed my first day at my new internship. To say that this place is different from the last place I was at would be a large understatement! Let me tell you a little about the facility:

So this is a rehab hospital. This means that the patient population in this hospital are those that need intensive therapy (hence the rehab part). They are individuals that have just suffered a stroke, traumatic brain injury (TBI), an amputation or other similar life altering situations. The average length of stay for a patient at this facility is around 14 days (similar to the skilled nursing facility (SNF) I was at). What makes this facility very different from a SNF is that there are doctors on staff and on site at all times. There are, of course, nurses and CNAs too, like at a SNF. Another major difference is that the patients in this hospital are required to participate in 3 hours of therapy 5 days/week. These 3 hours are split up between physical therapy, occupational therapy and, if necessary, speech therapy. So that’s the kind of setting I’m in now.

Now, let me tell you about the rehab team.My CI’s name is Amber and she is GREAT! She is from Colorado and has lived here her whole life. She graduated from Regis University almost two years ago (she’s young) and she is fantastic. She told me that she’s always loved teaching in some capacity and it shows. She’s immediately sat down with me and asked me how I learn best and how she can help me gain the most from this experience. I can already tell we are going to be a great team together and I’m excited to learn from her!

I really like the organization at this facility too! The rehab department is split up into 6 teams comprised of a PT and an OT that work closely together. Each team is assigned to around 7 or 8 rooms and those are the patients they are responsible for. I like this WAY more than seeing any random patient at random times and having difficulty following their progress. Twice a year they do a “team switch” where the teams are, you guessed it, switched up and you get a new partner and a new set of patients! The teams are color coded and, ironically, Amber is the orange team (this is ironic because our classes at school are color coded too and my class is the orange class). The big team switch though is happening next week so I can’t get too comfortable with these patients! We will be switching to the green team!

Be sure to stay tuned to find out how the first week goes!

One thought on “Day 1: We’re not in Kansas Anymore

  1. Linda Wiegand. ( Auntie ) says:

    Wowie Zowie !!!!!! Keep it up Kelly. I will be waiting for each one of your posts. I thank you for taking me along on your life’s journey.
    Love you lots, prayers to you, and a big warm hug .

    Like

Leave a Reply

